Anth’s inspiration

2015 Anth in cafeAnth loved inspiration. He had inspirational quotes on post-it notes all over his office. He subscribed to emails delivering daily motivational messages and meditations directly to his desktop. In clearing through his things, I have found many scribbled pages where he has noted down extracts from books on life’s purpose and learnings from psychology, eastern philosophy and metaphysics.

During his illness, Anth spoke about those who inspired him during his life. He noted down in a list those individuals he wanted to acknowledge, along with a few words of wisdom for us all. Anth’s wonderful friend Tony Iasiello and I read the list out at his funeral on 19 May 2017. The list was received with laughter and tears. Just what he would have wanted.


Anth’s words

My Career – loved every minute. Mentors Brian Bickmore, SGIC, Peter Harvey

Sherrif
Klemzig Pride – Italian influence – Nonna, Patino, Patina, Mum – the best – always there, unconditional love. Dad – tried his best – Love you.

 

My friends have meant the world to me:

Goiak – really enjoyed our muso days, watching Dallas, smoking at the spot and Jo Jo’s pizza

Manny – outstanding. Impressive human being. You are my favourite Greek.

Jimmy – Rags – big heart – thank you for ACH Group memories

David “Davide” Moran – big heart, great bloke. Loved working with you. Miss you.

Anna McNair – Inspiring person.

Mary Hill – Thank you for your kindness.

Mellors – loved every minute. Great people. Con T good support.

Kylie and Rey, Tom and Claude, Jef and Mim – Look after Jilly.

John and Jacqueline – Thank you for the great meals and conversations.

Beryl – Listen to your daughter. She’s not always right but she is most of the time. Thank you for letting me join the family.

Sang and Jinny – Sangio and Jinella – Love you. Jinny – you know you’re not Greek. Sang – Help your Mum. You don’t actually know it all. Be open to ideas and advice. It’s been a privilege watching you grow up, dickhead.

Mina and John – Thanks for how much you look after the kids. They are great kids.

Sandy – Great Muso, Love ya big heart

Leilia – Big heart, big soul, love you to bits

Tricia and Tas – Beautiful souls

Leeanne Wilson – impressive person

My Man, David Wilson – A beautiful soul since 1988. Love him so much.

Tony – Bro – Best mate, love him to bits, a rock to me.

Elsa and Laura – I never stopped loving you

Jill – third time lucky, beautiful soul, LOML (love of my life).

 

  • Music is the only true art.
  • Don’t sweat the small stuff – it’s all small stuff.
  • Love who you can when you can.
  • Never give up!
  • Only love defeats hate. Hate cannot defeat love (Dalai Lama).
  • Bring kindness in all you do.
  • If at first you don’t succeed, keep trying!

2 thoughts on “Anth’s inspiration

Add yours

  1. Hello Jill,
    Your blogs bring tears to my eyes. I was so sad to hear of the passing of Anthony. I’m so deeply sorry for your loss.

    When I was 18 Anthony gave me a job at Mellors and when I asked why? He said “ you have my daughters eyes”.

    The first day I met Anthony he stood out the front of Mellor Olsson and the sign was flashing. A girl in an Angel costume was dancing around outside. I had come from Lelia Matthewsons office. I knew in that moment the job was meant to be.

    I remember that Anthony always took the time to ask me how I was when he got his morning coffee and biscuit. I remember his fierce commitment to equality. A colleague had recommended donating biscuits that expired to a shelter and Anthony was so outraged by this! He believed in equality and felt they deserved nothing but the best. He inspired me on many levels.

    Anthony was a man of his word and when I came back years later he hired me again. It’s because of people like Anthony that he built up my self confidence, I felt seen and pursued a career in social work.

    I never forget his kind words at my farewell speech. He was funny, fierce, kind and inspiring. He spoke of his rekindled love with you and the love of his daughters. He led by example and always planted seeds of hope with profound quotes.

    I’m glad our paths crossed. Some people will never know the impact they have in brief moments of life. He definitely made a difference.

    Sending lots of love to you.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑